The Fifth Servant

beethovenConductingSarah Macintosh recently posted a blog entitled “Van Gogh and Christian Music“. I love these kind of blogs! An artist recognizing that something is wrong with contemporary Christian art and opening a dialogue about it…I’m there! Here are some quotes from her blog…

“Unfortunately, frequently, christian music drives me crazy. Instead of being pulled towards what the songs are attempting to reveal, oftentimes, I find myself hitting the mute button and frustration filling my chest.”

“Where is the great craft? Where is the great songwriting? What in the heck are they trying to say? What picture are they trying to paint?”

I share the same frustrations as Sarah. Here is my short response:

What should we expect when American Christianity has such a neatly packaged theology that pales in size and scope to what Scripture presents to us? Puppies in a basket and John 3:16 as N. D. Wilson

View original post 302 more words

About Joel

Joel is a 32 year old currently residing in the southeastern United States. His interests lay in philosophy and theology. He is a writer for The Christian Watershed.

Leave a Reply

