Political Philosophy (MiniBlog #3)

image

Many know I consider myself a Libertarian; in reality it is more like a quasi Libertarian. However, I am open to changing my views if a better political philosophy were to present itself. So far Libertarianism is the best especially in regards to foreign policy and civil liberties. I am not likely to stop being Libertarian on those two issues, which lead me to Libertarianism to begin with.

I am open to hearing new political philosophical views if one can show me one that is practical to American life in the 21st century. This means Monarchy is out…period. Do not preach to me Monarchy please. Many Orthodox condemn Libertarianism as not being compatible with the Faith. However, they only preach against it. They never offer alternative views that aren’t Monarchy.

I am a sinner. I do not have it all figured out. I wrestle with the context of 21st century life in America as an Orthodox Christian. I am a thinker. I am a man living in the world, so I engage the best I can in my society.

So if you are Orthodox then let us talk. What are some alternative political philosophies that you consider compatible with the Church’s teachings outside of Monarchy? I am not done learning and growing. I never will be. I just wrestle with the tension of being an Orthodox Christian in 21st century like everyone else.

As Orthodox Christians, we are exiles in a foreign land indeed. Our allegiance is to Christ and His Kingdom first and foremost! I wish sometimes I could be a monk on Mt. Athos who could ignore all these worldly concerns that distract us from theosis, but I am a man in the world and I must be concerned. We must pray for our leaders no matter our political atmosphere for it is good to do. So that being said I hope this post prompts convicted civility and dialogue that is edifying and respectful.

Epilogue: I find many have wrong preconceived notions of Libertarianism. This site is explains those mouths and truths of Libertarianism:

http://mises.org/daily/2616

About Joel

Joel is a 32 year old currently residing in the southeastern United States. His interests lay in philosophy and theology. He is a writer for The Christian Watershed.

6 thoughts on “Political Philosophy (MiniBlog #3)

    • I appreciate it. I have no interest in becoming Ethiopian Orthodox, but I did go to school with a lot of Ethiopian kids. I appreciate the culture, history, and faith of the Ethiopian people. I even have a tattoo in Amharic. Thanks for the recommendation.

      • My brother, in case you misunderstood me, I didn’t ask for you to convert. That was a suggestion for you to find the answer about why politics doesn’t work.

  1. Politics and religion are tricky. We see Jesus never associating Himself with any of the “political groups” of the day. He came to announce the Kingdom, the new polis. Taking this into consideration with the Romans 13 principle and the subversive untone in some of St Paul’s epistles I wonder if the Church should ever make any political pronouncements or even associate with any form of government. All we should do is recognize that whatever form of government exists is there to keep some kind of order and administer justice (albeit flawed justice), that the government rests on His shoulders. The only time, I believe, the Church should cross over into politics is to call attention to any injustice and inadequacies. Our primary concern should be the Kingdom! I don’t really have a great answer for you haha, I think this is something the Church needs to continually discuss. You might find this post interesting: http://cost-of-discipleship.blogspot.com/2013/07/stone-age-christianity.html

    • I think you are onto something. I believe Orthodoxy should always be self-critical and examine its ties with the State.

      • All too often the line between Church and State blurs, which causes a confusion of identity, of allegience. Which is most important, our nationality or the Kingdom of Heavan? If one cannot separate the two then they become one in the same. History attests to the atrocities which ensue when the Kingdom is mistaken for an earthly government. We, almost, have the opposite problem in the US, which an all new set of problems arise. I hope and pray that we learn from our history.

Leave a Reply

