A Year of Books

Eclectic Orthodoxy

During 2013 I read a lot. That is, really, the whole point of this blog—to force me to read and reflect. Of the books I read last year, here are my top five favorites:

1) David Bentley Hart, The Experience of God.

Reviewers agree that this is David Hart’s best book since Beauty of the Infinite. Hart’s erudition, unique and sometimes difficult writing style, and sure grasp of metaphysics combine to produce a singular reading experience. For some readers it may actually evoke an experience of the divine. Others may well end up cursing my name for recommending it to them. I understand. Hart is an acquired taste. One does not attain a love for a fine single malt overnight.

2) Denys Turner, Thomas Aquinas: A Portrait.

I have always thought that St Thomas Aquinas, along with all of his fellow scholastics, was “beyond my sympathies,” as…

View original post 600 more words

About Joel

Joel is a 32 year old currently residing in the southeastern United States. His interests lay in philosophy and theology. He is a writer for The Christian Watershed.

Leave a Reply

